Making Democracy Work

About the League

Who are we? What is our mission? How are we structured?

Our Mission and Roles

The League of Women Voters is a nonpartisan political organization encouraging informed and active participation in government. It influences public policy through education and advocacy. We never support or oppose any political party or candidate.

The League of Women Voters has two separate and distinct roles.

  • Voters Service/Citizen Education: we present unbiased nonpartisan information about elections, the voting process, and issues.

  • Action/Advocacy: we are also nonpartisan, but, after study, we use our positions to advocate for or against particular policies in the public interest.

To conduct our voter service and citizen education activities, we use funds from the League of Women Voters Education Fund, which is a 501(c)(3) corporation, a nonprofit educational organization. The League of Women Voters, a membership organization, conducts action and advocacy and is a nonprofit 501(c)(4) corporation.

Our Vision, Beliefs, and Intentions guide our activities.

Our Board

President: Martha Redmond
Vice President: Janet Ambrose
Treasurer: Marge La Fond
Secretary: TBD

Lorna Dempsey, Suzanne Hain, Sue Claire Harper, Connie Jones, Jane Lord, Janet Orlando, Michele Salvaneschi, Esther Shelton

Communications: Chair- Suzanne Hain
Land Use: Chair- Sue Claire Harper
Membership: Chair- TBD
Observer Corps: Chair - BR Breen
County Council & County Boards: TBD
Voter service: GOTV: Connie Jones, Janet Orlando
Candidates Forums: TBD
Fun Lunch Coordinator: Michele Salvaneschi
Nominating Committee: TBD

Off Board Positions
Moderator: Carol Jones
Email Manager: Wyn Achenbaum
Website Manager: Rain Tyler

President's 2016-2017 Annual Report

2016-2017 President's Annual Report

President's Annual Report

LWVSC Bylaws

Our Bylaws document formal requirements for how we operate.

LWV NonPartisanship and March Participation Policies

The League of Women Voters' nonpartisanship policy can be found here.

The statement on League participation in marches and events was issued in March, 2017 and can be found here.

League Organizational Structure

The League of Women Voters of Sussex County (LWVSC) is one of three local Leagues in the state of Delaware. The other local Leagues are Kent County and New Castle County

Members join the League at the local level which automatically makes them members of our parent organizations: The three local Leagues and the State League have their own board of directors and websites.

History of the League of Women Voters